Cameras caught Alvarez’s reaction as he walked backstage at Singapore Indoor Stadium, which hosted the Asia-based promotion’s first live event on the U.S. cable network.
Check out the video above.
Alvarez was declared the loser early in the first round after landing a series of punches that landed just behind Lapicus’ ear and were deemed illegal by referee Justin Brown. He initially argued the blows were fair because they had made contact with his opponent’s ear, but in an emotional post-fight virtual media scrum he said he would respect Brown’s call and wished the best for Lapicus, who was taken out of the arena in a stretcher.
In a subsequent post-fight interview, Alvarez continued to wish the best for Lapicus but asserted the decision should be overturned due to a bad call. ONE CEO Chatri Sityodtong cast doubt on that outcome, saying Alvarez landed four or five illegal blows. ONE Championship self-regulates for its live events.
This article first appeared at MMA Fighting – All Posts
Help support MMACrazies.com when you shop Amazon by starting your online Amazon shopping at MMACrazies.com/recommends/amazon. You are not charged extra, but we receive a small and very helpful commission on everything you purchase. Thanks for thinking of us every time you shop at Amazon.